The Medical Sciences Program in Bloomington is unique among the IU School of Medicine campuses in that it educates medical students seeking an MD as well as graduate and undergraduate students. Bloomington offers a Big 10 learning environment on an iconic campus.

With six major hospitals housing about 2000 beds, medical students in Evansville have access to physician educators in a range of medical specialties. An expanded residency program here will provide more than 100 new graduate medical education positions over the next few years.

The Fort Wayne campus offers clinical education in both rural and urban communities through two large hospital systems serving the region. A Student Research Fellowship Program offers med students nine weeks of summer research experience.

Students and faculty in Indianapolis benefit from close proximity to some of Indiana’s largest teaching hospitals and the Richard L. Roudebush Veterans Administration Medical Center. This campus offers medical education in the heart of one of the most progressive and economically healthy cities in the United States.

Muncie is the School’s only campus that’s located on hospital property, giving medical students a front-row four-year medical education with all the amenities that come with being located near the campus of Ball State University, a bustling college environment.

Located in a highly populated urban region just 25 miles from downtown Chicago, the Gary campus offers medical students unparalleled access to clinical care at 11 major teaching hospitals housing 2800 beds. An expanded residency program in Gary will accommodate more than 100 new graduate medical education positions.

IU School of Medicine-South Bend is located on the campus of Notre Dame, offering a rich campus life in a traditionally collegiate community. Students here gain clinical care experience at the Navari Student Outreach Clinic, and external funding for faculty research exceeds $2 million per year.

Known for its rural medical education program, IU School of Medicine-Terre Haute meets the increased need for physicians to serve rural communities throughout the state of Indiana and beyond. This unique four-year medical school program emphasizes primary care and other specialties of need in rural communities.

Located on the campus of Purdue University, the West Lafayette campus offers a Big Ten campus atmosphere and opportunities to supplement the MD curriculum with research experience in the collaborative labs and research centers here. This IU School of Medicine campus offers on-campus housing to med students.

South Bend


Volunteer Clinical Faculty

Darryl Beasley, MD
Bernardo Beker, MD
Matthew Jachim, MD
Kenneth Jongsma, DO
Kathryn Lambourne, MD

Shakil Aslam, MD
Sean Halleran, MD
Raman Mitra, MD
Sachin Patel, MD
Breno Pessanha, MD
William Sarnat, MD
Don Westerhausen, MD

Walter Halloran, MD

Holly Hake Harris, MD
Todd Rozycki, MD

Christy Annis, MD
Michelle Bache, MD
Jason Bailey, MD
Glen Brookshire, MD
George Drew, DO
Steve Eder, MD
Bruce Harley, MD
Jason Jaronik, MD
George Kim, MD
Mark Kricheff, MD
Scott Ludwig, MD
Mark Monahan, MD
Andy Rusk, MD
Jon Shenk, MD
Keith Sherry, MD
Jamie Shoemaker, MD
Daniel Sullivan, MD
David Van Ryn, MD
Byars Wells, MD

John Cavanaugh, MD
Cyprian Gardine III, MD

Jennifer Ludwig, MD
Genevieve Maloney, MD
Dale Patterson, MD
Martin Wieschhaus, MD

Chang Oh, MD
John Matthis, MD

Meredith Wierman, DO

Hai Bao, MD – Internal Medicine Hospitalist
Justin Chow, MD – Internal Medicine Hospitalist
Jennifer Gray, MD – Internal Medicine Hospitalist
Mathew Kallookulangara, MD – Internal Medicine
Asima Rashid, MD – Internal Medicine
Israr Siddiqi, MD – Internal Medicine

Brian Sucharetza, MD

John Aranda, MD
Michael Englert, MD
Walter Langheinrich, MD
Patrick Russell, DO
Paula Russell, MD
Joseph Schnittker, MD
Thomas Vidic, MD
Robert Yount, MD
Devin Zimmerman, MD

Michelle Ashton, MD
Tracy Byrne, MD
Leonard Ferguson, MD
Joseph Harmon, MD
Stephen Hollenberg, MD
Enrique Infante, MD
James Mauck, MD
Rosalie McBride, MD
Timothy Morgan, MD
Lauren Outlaw, MD
Kurt Stiver, MD, JD
Lorrie Weaver, MD

Steve Gerber, MD

Thomas Akre, DO
Bryan Boyer, MD
Randolph Ferlic, MD
Leonard Kibiloski, MD
Jeffrey Yergler, MD

Savita Collins, MD
David Issacson, MD
Daniel Kletzing, MD
David Sabato, MD

Mary Degeneffe, MD
Jared Dhaemers, MD
A. Kate Dutkiewicz, MD
Camile Kureth, MD
Andrew Lapadat, MD
Carol Luzzi, MD
MaryJo Meier, MD
Sandra Morgan, MD
Colleen Morrison, MD
Mary Alice Reid, MD
John Rice, MD
Betsy Rossow, MD
Hendrica Sisk, MD
Vitaliy Soloveychik, MD
Lynnette Valentijn, MD
Jill Veselik, MD
Wendy Warner-Lapadat, MD

Ronald Downs, MD
Patrick Viscardi, MD

Walter Filipek, MD
Gary Fromm, MD
Paul Guentert, MD
Matthew Kocielski, MD

Edduyn Figueroa, MD
Douglas Jarvis, DO
Jennifer Knapp, DO
Majid Malik, MD
Suhayl Nasr, MD
Robert Raster, MD
Hugh Starks, MD
David Taylor, DO

Donald Gindelberger, DO
Kristine Hatcher, DO
Chris Mianecki, DO
Brett Stephens, MD
Katrina Vanderveen, MD

Jeffrey Borders, MD
Alfredo Casetti, MD
Greg Credi, MD
Edward Delle Donne, MD
George Friend, MD
Tim Noveroske, MD
Charles Peterson, MD
Thomas Poulin, MD
Michael Rotkis, MD
Scott Thomas, MD
Mark Thompson, MD

Jerald Hochstetler, MD
Carl Walker, MD

Outstanding Physician Award

Each year, IU School of Medicine – South Bend faculty and supporters nominate a clinical faculty member as Outstanding Physician. The annual award honors a physician who has worked closely with medical students in South Bend and whose work in community engagement and excellence in practice exemplifies the physician-teacher.

2015 Recipient

Mark A. Thompson, MD, has been named the 2015 Outstanding Physician of the Year for his work with Indiana University School of Medicine-South Bend.

Thompson, who practices in South Bend with General & Vascular Surgery, has been clerkship director of IU School of Medicine-South Bend’s surgical rotation since clinical education was introduced in 2008. He has continuously trained IU School of Medicine-South Bend’s medical students and has closely mentored a number of students who have selected surgical careers.

Thompson earned his medical degree from the Indiana University School of Medicine and completed his residency at The Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, Rochester, Minn. He is an alum of IU School of Medicine-South Bend’s two-year program.