Center for HPV Research

Center for HPV Research

The IU School of Medicine Center for HPV Research focuses on improving understanding of the Human Papillomavirus (HPV) infection and its consequences. Scientists are exploring how the infection is transmitted and prevented. Under the leadership of Dennis Fortenberry, MD, MS; Gregory Zimet, PhD, and Rachel Katzenellenbogen, MD, the Center for HPV Research fosters cohesion and collaboration among investigators pursuing HPV-related research.

This group of scholars represents a growing synergy between the disciplines of medicine, health marketing, psychology, and public health to establish a world-class Center for HPV Research, research training, and research translation.

The Center for HPV Research provides opportunities for cross-disciplinary collaborations, supports the professional development of junior faculty, and works to engage the community in understanding HPV infection, disease, and prevention. The center’s work benefits from IU School of Medicine and the  interdisciplinary research culture and infrastructure at Indiana University – Purdue University, Indianapolis (IUPUI).

Community outreach is an important part of the Center for HPV Research’s work to prevent HPV infection and HPV-related cancers. The center also disseminates research findings relevant to health policy advocacy.

Research Funding

The Center for HPV Research’s collaborative studies have led to numerous co-authored publications and multi-investigator research grants.

Initially funded through the IUPUI Signature Centers Initiative, with support from IU School of Medicine Department of Pediatrics and the IU Simon Cancer Center, the Center for HPV Research has helped to fund interdisciplinary biological, clinical and behavioral/social science pilot research projects that lead to independent extramural funding.

Faculty Spotlight

Gregory D. Zimet, PhD,  HSPP

Gregory D. Zimet, PhD, HSPP

Professor of Pediatrics
James D. Fortenberry, MD,  MS

James D. Fortenberry, MD, MS

Donald Orr, M.D. Professor of Adolescent Medicine