News and Events

IU professor awarded $89,000 grant

An Indiana University School of Medicine associate professor has been awarded a grant to study enzyme interaction with blood vessel growth. Tim Corson, PhD, Eugene and Marilyn Glick Eye Institute’s Director of Basic and Translational Research, was awarded an $89,000 grant from the Carl Marshall Reeves and Mildred Almen Reeves Foundation to conduct research on the role of an enzyme important in the new blood vessel growth observed in age-related macular degeneration (AMD).

Five Department of Ophthalmology faculty named “Top Docs” by Indianapolis Monthly

Five faculty from the IU School of Medicine Department of Ophthalmology were named 2017 Top Docs by Indianapolis Monthly:

Lou Cantor, MD
Dan Neely, MD
David Plager, MD
Derek Sprunger, MD
Rudy Yung, MD

David Wallace, MD, MPH, named chair of the Department of Ophthalmology

A native Hoosier and IU School of Medicine-trained physician has been named chair of the IU School of Medicine Department of Ophthalmology and director of the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Eye Institute. David Wallace, MD, MPH, former professor of ophthalmology and pediatrics, vice chair for clinical strategic planning, and director of clinical research for the Duke University Department of Ophthalmology, assumed the role as chair November 1. Find more information in the full press release or learn more about Wallace in this Q&A.

Ashay Bhatwadekar, PhD, awarded $1.9 million grant to study vision-threatening condition

IU School of Medicine researcher and assistant professor of ophthalmology Ashay Bhatwadekar, PhD, was awarded a five-year, $1.9 million grant by the NIH to study diabetic retinopathy (DR), a long-term, vision-threatening complication of diabetes. The grant will fund the work of scientists within the Department of Ophthalmology as they aim to discover promising treatment to assist individuals with DR in managing their condition. Read more in the IU School of Medicine Newsroom.