Since its founding in 1908, the Department of Ophthalmology has benefited from the generosity of patients, alumni, humanitarians and service organizations. Become a part of the future of the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Eye Institute at the IU School of Medicine Department of Ophthalmology.

Frequently Asked Questions

Gifts may be used in a variety of ways, including to purchase research and vision-testing equipment; to provide residents and fellows with travel stipends to present research across the country; to establish a lecture series within the department; in support of laboratory and clinical research; as an endowment for a laboratory research fund ($250,000), fellowship ($250,000), lectureship ($100,000), professorship ($500,000), senior professorship ($750,000), faculty chair ($1.5 million) or senior faculty chair ($2 million); or to support the expansion of research labs and to create an ambulatory surgical center.

The Department of Ophthalmology accepts cash, check or online credit card donations. Checks should be made out to Indiana University Foundation – School of Medicine, P.O. Box 7072, Indianapolis, IN 46266-0254. Please be sure to indicate the purpose of the gift in the memo line of the check.

Securities, such as stocks and bonds; real estate and personal properties (i.e. art, coins); and estate bequests and planned gifts (i.e. charitable remainder and lead trusts, including insurance, charitable or deferred gift annuities, pooled income funds, retirement plant, IRAs) are also accepted. An individual wishing to contribute a gift may choose to make a pledge, up to five years, as well.

Gift can be contributed toward any of the subspecialty areas within the Department of Ophthalmology, including comprehensive (general) ophthalmology; corneal and external ocular disease; glaucoma neuro-ophthalmology; oculoplastic surgery; pediatric ophthalmology and adult strabismus; and retina and vitreous disease.

Gifts previously donated to the department include:

  • An optical coherence tomography machine, state-of-the-art equipment used to analyze the retinal nerve fiber layer and used in the diagnosis and study of eye disease
  • Letzter Professor of Ophthalmology: The first endowed chair in the Department of Ophthalmology that is currently held by Alon Harris, PhD
  • Merrill Grayson Chair in Ophthalmology to support vision research within the department
  • Jay C. and Lucille L. Kahn Chair for Glaucoma Research and Education that is currently held by Louis Cantor, MD