Department History

Dermatology began at Indiana University School of Medicine with the appointment of Alembert Brayton, MD, in the early 1900s as the first Professor of Dermatology and Syphilology. At that time, as in most medical schools, dermatology was a section of Internal Medicine. Brayton was succeeded by a number of dermatologists who taught at the medical school while maintaining private practices in Indianapolis; these included Frank Cregor, MD; Frank Gastineau, MD; John Brayton, MD; James Gosman, MD; Boynton Booth, MD; and Robert Jenkins, MD.

The dermatology residency program was established at the Marion County General Hospital, (formerly Wishard Memorial Hospital), now the Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Hospital, by John Dalton, MD, who served as chief of Dermatology from 1948 to 1960. Booth directed the residency program.

In 1963, Dermatology became a stand-alone Department of Indiana University School of Medicine. Victor Hackney, MD, was recruited from Stanford University to be the first chairman. The residency program and clinical service were merged into the department. The department grew with the addition of full-time faculty, including Arthur Norins, MD, in 1964 and Walter Epinette, MD, in 1971, both from Stanford.

In 1976, Norins succeeded Hackney as chairman and recruited Stephen Wolverton, MD. The dermatology residency expanded to six residents. Clinics at Riley Hospital for Children and the Roudebush Veterans Administration Medical Center were incorporated into the training and service program. This period also saw the expansion of the research efforts with the establishment of the Hackney Laboratory for Investigative Dermatopathology in 1990. Dan Spandau, MD, was appointed the director and has developed a research program in molecular biology of the skin.

In 1993, Evan Farmer, MD, was recruited from Johns Hopkins University to succeed Norins as chairman and was appointed the first Kampen-Norins Chair in 1997. Farmer’s interests included dermatopathology, graft-versus-host disease and clinical dermatology with emphasis on outcome studies. Farmer recruited Charles Lewis, MD, from Brooke Army Medical Center to head the Regenstrief Dermatology Clinics in 1994. In 1995, Jeffrey B. Travers, MD, PhD, joined the department.

In 2001, Farmer became dean and provost at Eastern Virginia Medical School. Following a nationwide search, Travers was chosen as chair. Newer additions to the faculty include Gary Dillon, MD (general dermatology, dermatopathology), Nico Mousdicas, MD (contact and occupational dermatology), Anita Haggstrom, MD (pediatric dermatology), Lawrence Mark, MD (melanoma, lymphoma), Ally-Khan Somani, MD (Mohs surgery, investigative dermatology), Najwa Somani, MD (dermatopathology, hair disorders), and Alison Klenk, MD (general dermatology). Three new satellite offices opened. The number of residents was expanded to nine. Melanie Kingsley, MD (cosmetic dermatology), Joanne Trockman, MD (general dermatology), and Lisa Xu, MD (medical dermatology) joined the department in 2010.

In 2010, following a national search, Elliot J. Androphy, MD, became the fifth chair of Dermatology, having previously held administrative leadership roles at the University of Massachusetts and Tufts Medical Schools.