Skip to main content

Shelly Timmons, MD, appointed to prestigious accreditation committee

Shelly Timmons, MD, PhD

Shelly Timmons, MD, PhD

Shelly D. Timmons, MD, PhD, chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery, has been appointed to the Neurological Surgery Review Committee of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). The ACGME accredits all residency and fellowship programs in the United States and dedicates resources to address areas of importance in graduate medical education.

Timmons was nominated by the American College of Surgeons and chosen from a highly selected group of national leaders with expertise in education and post-graduate training. The ACGME also employs best practices, research and advancements across the continuum of medical education to enhance health care and graduate medical education.

Timmons will join six neurosurgeon colleagues, a resident member and a public member on the Neurological Surgery Review Committee in July 2021 for a six-year term. The group accredits the country’s neurosurgical training programs and provides insight to issues affecting training to the ACGME at large.

The views expressed in this content represent the perspective and opinions of the author and may or may not represent the position of Indiana University School of Medicine.

Glenda Shaw

Communications Specialist, Neurosciences

Glenda joined the Department of Neurological Surgery in 2015 as a Medical Editor. A journalism graduate of Howard University, Glenda has an extensive background in delivering health and science information to the patient and clinician audiences. Contact ...