Honors and Awards

Indiana University School of Medicine believes that honoring outstanding teaching, research and service is an important part of the school’s culture. The following awards recognize the work of faculty members across the entire school, with specific awards offered for certain campuses. In addition, IU School of Medicine honors faculty with endowed chairs, lectureships, professorships and teaching awards from Indiana University Trustees.

School-Wide Honors

The Exemplar of Professionalism Honor Roll is an exciting new award to recognize those at the school who embody the core values of excellence, respect, integrity, diversity and cooperation. Celebrating positive role models who uphold the IU School of Medicine Honor Code in their daily interactions, the Exemplar designation is designed to recognize faculty, residents, fellows, students and staff members.

Faculty Awards

For the IU School of Medicine community, mentoring is an essential factor in sustaining the vitality, development and retention of both faculty and students. The Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award recognizes the exceptional mentoring practices of one clinician and one basic scientist each year. Nominations are due July 28, 2017.

This award honors faculty who inspire and motivate learners to work hard and achieve more than they ever thought possible. The prestigious Inspirational Educator Award acknowledges the time and dedication put forth by faculty in order to be effective educators. Nominations are due July 28, 2017.

This award recognizes faculty who go above and beyond standard teaching practices and take a scholarly approach to educating learners. Nominations for the Scholar Educator Award are due July 28, 2017.

The Faculty Community Relations Committee (FCRC) Award for Outstanding Community Engagement was established to recognize and encourage exceptional community engagement by IU School of Medicine faculty in activities related to volunteerism, community based learning or research, outreach, partnership and curricular engagement. Nominations are due July 28, 2017.

Each year, the IU Board of Trustees recognizes excellence in teaching through the Trustees’ Teaching Awards. Recipients of this award receive a $2500 bonus, memorial plaque and are recognized at the IU School of Medicine commencement. Approximately 48 IU School of Medicine faculty receive this award each year.

IU School of Medicine faculty members at the Indianapolis campus are eligible for a variety of awards in teaching, civic engagement, diversity, mentoring and research conferred by IUPUI. For more information, visit the IUPUI Office of Faculty Appointments and Advancement.

Given out annually since 1984, the Steven C. Beering Award for Advancement of Biomedical Science honors an internationally recognized researcher for outstanding contributions to the advancement of biomedical or clinical science. Nominations due November 3, 2017.

Created by Dr. and Mrs. Guey C. Mark, the Mark Brothers Lectureship recognizes nationally and internationally renowned medical scientists of Asian descent. This lectureship was established in 1997 in honor of Dr. Mark’s brothers, who immigrated from Canton and settled in South Bend, Indiana, and started a successful business. Nominations due November 3, 2017.

Indiana University recognizes excellence by awarding distinguished professorships, teaching awards and outstanding service contributions through the Office of University Ceremonies. For details, visit the Office of University Ceremonies.