Indiana University
MAPS & DIRECTIONS Maps FIND PEOPLE Find People

Research Affairs Leadership

David Wilkes, M.D.
Executive Associate Dean for Research Affairs
(317) 278-7020
(317) 274-8439 FAX
Email: dwilkes@iupui.edu

  • Oversees all research funding at the IU School of Medicine
  • Oversees INGEN  
  • Oversees research cores
  • Oversees external lobbying for research
  • Oversees relationships with IURTC , pharmaceutical companies, development office, public relations (specifically issues relating to research) 

J. Thomas Callaghan, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Dean of VA Research
(317) 988-2624
Email: jcallagh@iu.edu

Randy R. Brutkiewicz Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
(317) 274-3441
Email: rbrutkie@iu.edu

Patrick J. Loehrer, M.D.
Director of the IU Simon Cancer Center
(317) 278-7418 
Email: ploehrer@iupui.edu

Eric Meslin, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Bioethics
317-278-4034
Email: emeslin@iupui.edu

Anantha Shekhar, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Translational Research
(317) 274-1246
(317) 248-4821 fax
Email: ashekhar@iupui.edu

William Tierney, M.D.
Associate Dean for Clinical Effectiveness Research
(317) 630-7604
Email: atierney@iupui.edu

Aaron Carroll, M.D.
Assistant Dean for Clinical Outcomes Research
(317) 278-0552
Email: aaecarro@iupui.edu

  • Oversees clinical outcomes research

Mervin C. Yoder Jr., M.D.
Assistant Dean for Entrepreneurial Research
(317) 274-8900
Email: myoder@iupui.edu

  • Leads technology transfer and entrepreneural development initiatives

Robert Aull
Director, Research Administration
(317) 274-2325
Email: raull@iupui.edu

  • Director of Research Administration
  • Contact for research affairs

Debra Hickman, D.V.M., M.S., DACLAM
Director, Laboratory Animal Research Center
(317) 274-1957
Email: hickmand@iupui.edu