Steven C. Beering Award

Steven C. Beering Award for Advancement of Biomedical Science Recipients

2009 marks the 25th anniversary of the Steven C. Beering Award for Advancement of Biomedical Science. Below see the list of Beering award recipients, four of whom went on to win the Nobel Prize.


2011 Dr. Craig B. Thompson, President & Chief Executive Officer, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY. "Cell growth and survival: It’s all about metabolism"

2010 Arnold J. Levine, Ph.D., Systems Biology Professor, School of Natural Sciences; Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey.  “The Evolution of the P53 Family of Genes: One Billion Years of Fidelity

2009 Dr. Bert W. O'Malley, Tom Thompson Professor & Chairman, Dept. of Molecular/Cellular Biology; and Director, Baylor Center for Reproductive Biology; Baylor College of Medicine; Houston, Texas
2008 Dr. Charles A. Dinarello, Professor of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases
University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver, Colorado; Member, United States National Academy of Sciences, Foreign Member, European Molecular Biology Organization
2007 Dr. Robert A. Weinberg, Founding Member, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research Daniel K. Ludwig Professor for Cancer Research, American Cancer Society Research Professor and Professor of Biology at the Massachusetts Institute of
Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts
2006 Dr. Elaine Fuchs , Rebecca C. Lancefield Professor of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development, The Rockefeller University Howard Hughes Medical Institute "Skin Stem Cells: Biology and Potential for Regenerative Medicine"
2005 Dr. James E. Rothman, Clyde and Helen Wu Professor of Chemical Biology, Director of the Judith P. Sulzberger, M.D. Columbia Genome Center Columbia University. "Principles of Cellular Membrane Fusion."
2004 Dr. Stanley J. Korsmeyer, Sidney Farber Professor of Pathology and Professor of Medicine Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School, Boston.
2003 Dr. Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of California, San Francisco. "Telomeres and telomerase in human health and disease."
2002 Dr. C. Ronald Kahn, Mary K. Iaccoca Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, and President and Director of the Joslin Diabetes Center, Boston, Massachusetts. "Defining the Multi-Dimensional Insulin Signaling Network."
2001 Dr. Bernard C. Rossier, Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Institut de Pharmacologie et de Toxicologie de l'Université de Lausane, Switzerland. "Salt-sensitive hypertension: from monogenic to polygenic disease."
2000 Dr. Richard W. Tsien, George D. Smith Professor, Department of Molecular and Cellular Physiology, Stanford University School of Medicine. "Signaling Across the Synapse and Onto the Nucleus."
1999 Dr. Jeffrey M. Friedman, Professor at the Rockefeller University, New York, and Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute. "Leptin and the Regulation of Body Weight"
1998 Dr. Judah Folkman, Andrus Professor of Pediatric Surgery and Professor of Cell Biology, Harvard Medical School; Senior Associate in Surgery and Director, Surgical Research Laboratory, Boston Children's Hospital. "New Directions in Angiogenesis Research."
1997 Dr. Harold E. Varmus, Director of the National Institutes of Health. "The Origins of Cancer."
1996 Dr. Robert A. Good, Distinguished Graduate Research Professor, College of Medicine, University of South Florida. "Bone Marrow and Stem Cell Transplantation: Past, Present, and Future."
1995 Dr. Anthony S. Fauci, Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), National Institutes of Health. "Host Factors in the Pathogenesis of HIV Disease."
1994 Dr. Frances S. Collins, Director of the National Center for Human Genome Research, National Institutes of Health. "The Human Genome Project and the Future of Medicine."
1993 Dr. Bruce A. Chabner, Director of the Division of Cancer Treatment, National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health. "From Soup to Nuts: The Search for Cancer's Holy Grail."
1992 Dr. Janet D. Rowley, Blum-Riese Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine and of Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology at the Franklin McLean Memorial Research Institute, The Pritzker School of Medicine, University of Chicago. "Chromosome Translocations: Dangerous Liaisons."
1991 Drs. Edwin G. Krebs, Professor Emeritus of Pharmacology, and Edmond H. Fischer, Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, both of the School of Medicine at the University of Washington, Seattle. "Protein Phosphorylation Cascades and Signal Transduction" and "Protein Tyrosine Phosphatases in Signal Transduction and Cell Behavior."
1990 Dr. Alfred G. Gilman, Chairman of the Department of Pharmacology and the Raymond and Ellen Willie Professor of Molecular Neuropharmacology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. "G Proteins and Regulation of Adenylyl Cyclase." 
1989 Dr. Leroy E. Hood, Chairman of the Division of Biology and Director of the Cancer Center at the California Institute of Technology. "Biotechnology and Medicine in the Twenty-First Century."
1988 Dr. Jesse Roth, Director, Division of Intramural Research, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, National Institutes of Health. "Evolutionary Origins of Intercellular Communication: Applications to Human Disease."
1987 Dr. David E. Kuhl, Chief, Division of Nuclear Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine, University of Michigan. "The Search for an Image of Living Brain Function."
1986 Dr. Robert Lefkowitz, James B. Duke Professor of Medicine, Duke University, and Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute. "Receptors and Rhodopsin: Shedding New Light on an Old Subject."
1985 Dr. Floyd E. Bloom, Director, Division of Preclinical Neuroscience and Endocrinology, Scripps Clinic and Research Foundation. "Neuroscience in Medicine: Converging Clinical Implications."
1984 Dr. Philip Leder, Chairman of the Department of Genetics at Harvard Medical School. "Misplaced Oncogenes: A Molecular Basis for Malignancy."


Recipients in bold are also winners of the Nobel Prize for Medicine


Fairbanks Hall | 340 West 10th Street, Suite 6200 | Indianapolis, IN 46202-3082 | (317) 274-8157